Jelly

Ingredient

Hi guys! I wanted to ask about gelatin and other products we need to be careful while buying jellies. Can you say the names in Korean, please? Thank you!

4 answers

Hi! Everything written with 돼지고기

mostly jelly or like gelatin candy in korea use gelatin from pig, so better avoid it :'))

If you want to get gummies like Haribo, don’t buy it in local convenience store or supermarket. Try to find it in Daiso, most of the Haribos in Daiso are imported from Indonesia and have the Indonesian Halal Certified label

Gelatin in Korean is written as 젤라틴. About gelatin itself, it can be obtained not only from pork, but also from cow and fish. So you'd better check in detail, usually mentioned directly in the ingredients list as for examples: 젤라틴(돈피) or 젤라틴(돼지고기) or 젤라틴(쇠고기) or 젤라틴(피쉬). When it is written only as 젤라틴, then you should check if there's 돼지고기 or 쇠고기 on the allergen list usually at the end of the ingredients list [xxxx 함유]. For additional information, you can basically check if there's halal certificate on the package of imported jellies. The ones imported from Turkey -Haribo or other brands- usually have halal mark. And you can find halal jellies not only in Daiso but also at Homeplus or Emart. Just make sure you read the ingredients carefully.

More questions about Muslim life in Korea